Kalaimamani 2009 announced

Excerpt from today’s Hindu..

Tamil Nadu government on Tuesday(Feb 24th) announcing Kalaimamani awards for 70 persons who have made a significant contribution to their respective fields. The awards are given by the Tamil Nadu Iyal Isai Nataka Mantram.
Bharatanatyam exponents honored this year are Sangeetha Kapilan(disciple of Smt. Krishnakumari Narendran?), Aishwarya Dhanush(disciple of Smt. Meenakshi Chitaranjan)

Aishwarya Dhanush, dancer and daughter of actor Rajinikanth, said it was very exciting to be receiving the honour. “I have to thank my guru Meenakshi Chittaranjan, my husband Dhanush, who encouraged me to resume professional dancing, and my parents, who took the initiative.” My son Yatra is my lucky charm.”

Source:http://www.hindu.com/2009/02/25/stories/2009022560211000.htm

7 responses to “Kalaimamani 2009 announced

  1. Wanted to add a question:

    Can anyone tell me what “significant contribution to” the “respective field” of Bharatanatyam has Aishwarya made? 🙂 🙂

  2. I can tell you!! she is a source of confidence to so many young budding dancers.. On seing her dance, she makes them feel like “iva ellam aadra podhu nammalum kandippa aadalaam”.. and she has taught numerous ways to dancers on how to not dance.. For this she surely deserves a kalaimamani!

  3. And that is why I want her name to appear in the Guinness Book of World Records.

    It should appear under the Subject’Art of Teaching How not to Dance’.

Leave a comment