Meet Manaswini Sridhar

Manaswini SridharLet’s get to know Manaswini, disciple of Yuva Kala Bharathi Suma Mani

“I am Manaswini , 11 years old.

I am studying in DAV School, Adambakkam, and reside in Nanganallur, Chennai.

From the age of five, I have been learning Bharatanatyam from my guru Suma akka.

Appreciating my dance performance in school, my mother took great interest and took me to Suma akka who is an expert in training students / children like me.

Since then, my dance school at Nungambakkam has become a place of passion for me. It is a place where my akka keeps me motivated, a place I love.

I dance for at least 15 hours a week: more if we have rehearsals.

I come home from school around four in the evening, and mother takes me to dance class by train travelling from Pazhavanthangal to Nungambakkam in Chennai.

Even though I am spending a large amount of time on dance everyday, I manage to get decent grades in school.

My arangetram took place at Bharatiya Vidya Bhawan, Mylapore (Chennai) when I was nine years old. I still remember the day when my father expressed his fear to my teacher ­ he wondered if I could perform a solo for two hours at this age.

I had a great arangetram. All because of the coaching given by my guru ­ I had the rare privilege of my guru paying personal attention to me.

The arangetram was on Aug 20, 2004, a Friday. I danced with all my heart. I had great exponents as guests – Padmini aunty, ŒJaya TV¹ Radhika akka, Gopika akka – to watch my performance. I felt I was in heaven when the great Padmini aunty called me ‘Little Shobana’ seeing my performance.

I have been winning dance competitions and given 25 performances in the last two years, including sabha kutcheris for the December season. In the recent Natyanjali dance fest at Thanjavur, I had the rarest opportunity of doing nattuvangam for my guru . I was thrilled when my guru hugged me and appreciated my work.

My dream is to dance, dance, and dance. I love to dance and I love to make a career in dance.”

Here are the schedules for her programs this season

Bharatanatyam Recital by Kum. Manaswini Sridhar
(Disciple of Guru Bharatasri Suma Mani)

1. Jan 5th 2008 7.15pm , GanaMukundapriya – RK Swami Auditorium , Mylapore Chennai-4

2. Jan 8th 2008, 7.00pm – “EMPERUMAAM NAM PERUMAAN” – Mylapore Fine Arts Club, Mylapore Chennai-4

3. Jan 23rd 7 to 7.30pm. recital at Mamallapuram Dance festival

4.Jan 30th 2008, 7.00 pm – PARTHASARATHY SWAMI SABHA , RK SWAMI AUDITORIUM, MYLAPOE, CHENNAI-4.

Manaswini completes her 51st recital by the end of January 2008.

3 responses to “Meet Manaswini Sridhar

  1. Ganamukundhapriya and Divyanjali present Natya kala Conference on 24th feb , Sunday Venue – D.akshinamurty Auditorium , PS HS School, RK Mutt road, Mylapore, Chennai-4
    10am to 11.15 am.
    Key Note Addrss by Natyacharya VP Dhananjayan “The Living Art (facts and fictions) ,
    11.15 am – Lecture by Sri Kishore Mosalikanti on
    “Solo Kuchupudi performance – then and now”
    Ideal for Students, performers, teachers – ENTRY FREE

  2. Hi manaswini, it s really words of confidence written by you and it comes out of your experience and exposure to great guru’s…God bless

Leave a comment