Dance Festival Of India, Carnegie Hall, Sept. 20th, 2008

The dance festival of India will be held to celebrate the 6 Indian performing Art formsof Bharathanatyam, Mohiniattam, Kathak, Kushipudi, Odissi and Kalaripayattu at Carnegie Hall, New York, on Sep20th, 2008. The six troupes, 75 dancers and musicians, are already in preparation for their trip here from India and MalaysiaNrityasree, Prof. C.V. Chandrasekhar’s dance group will represent the Bharathanatyam Style.  

 

For more on this event visit http://www.dfi08.org/

9 responses to “Dance Festival Of India, Carnegie Hall, Sept. 20th, 2008

  1. Hi Sangeetha,

    Could you tell me, if there are any performances in this week or the next in madras so i could attend them.

    Hi Meghna !
    Sorry for the delay in replying to your query. I got really busy with doing nothing important:)
    Well The Hindu Segment on programs is the best guide to find dance and music shows in Madras. I am aware of Smt. Chitra visweswaran’s Nirantharaha on Sep 19th at Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan and Shridhar and Anuradha Shridhar’s Classical Duo presentation at Kalakshetra auditorium on Sept 27th. Please check the local papers for timing and venue confirmations.
    Best wishes,
    Sangeetha

  2. Hi Sangeetha,

    thank you so much! 🙂
    I am not in Chennai. I am in Bangalore. So i wanted to know, iam planning to visit chennai, so wanted to attend a programme!
    i will try coming next week, so i can attend one of them! 🙂

  3. Sangeetha:

    Do you have any updates on the Chennai Music Festival season this Dec 2008/Jan 2009.

    If you can help me find out how I can get tickets, I would so appreciate it. I am going to be in Chennai from Dec 11th through Dec 25th.

    Shilpa

    Hi Shilpa!
    Nice to hear from you. The schedule should be out by end October. I will let you know as soon as I get to know…As for the tickets I think you could email the sabhas you are planning to attend (programs) and pick them up in person.
    Will come up with a post on the website and contact details of sabhas .
    Enjoy your trip…
    Regards,
    Sangeetha

  4. how to participate in dance competation

    Hi Arun!
    This was not a competition.
    Best wishes,
    Sangeetha

  5. Can anyone please help me know the procedure to apply for dance festivals in india (especially in chennai). I am a Kuchipudi Dancer and learnt dance from renowned kuchipudi mastero Padmabhushan Vempati Chinna Satyam, Chennai. I tried for Natyanjali but could not succeed this time. So please tell me if we have any dance festivals in future and how to apply for those festival..
    Regards,
    Ramani

  6. i want to participate in dance programmes.Could u pls give me the details.I love dancing.I finished
    my arangetram,and want to do more programmes.I
    am learning dance from kalaimamini priya jayaraman.

  7. pls send it to me soon.

    Dear Swathi,
    Glad to hear of your interest.
    I think the best person to start helping you in this journey would be your guru. Ask her
    Get your CV, website and video CD’s ready and apply to the contacts listed in Sabha websites, in your place and in Madras, if you are not stationed there. Apply to dance festivals, Natyanjalis etc.. (You search for the festivals(Chidamabaram, Tanjavur, Kumbakonam Natyanajali, Konark Dance Festival etc on google and you will find pages listing their contacts)
    Probably participating in competitions is also a good idea. There are competitions conducted in Madras, Mumbai and Bangalore.
    Ask your Guru about getting graded .
    You would definitely need some experience if you would like to be dance abroad. And remember to network with people at conferences, programs etc. Remember there are hundreds of dancers who have had their arangetrams and they are all waiting for their turn and to get that recognition it takes a lot of hard work.
    Regards,
    Sangeetha

Leave a Reply

