Padmashri Awards Announced

The Padma Awards that are announced on the Republic Day of India every year is a prestigious award. Padma Shri awards for this year have been conferred on the following artistes of music and dance.

Prof. Yella Venkateswara Rao

This mridangam maestro from Andhra Pradesh, initially learnt under his adopted father and guru, Yella Somanna and had his advanced training from the veteran mridangist Palghat Mani Iyer. He runs the Yella International Institute of Mridangam and Other Percussion Instruments in Hyderabad.

Meenakshi Chittaranjan

A disciple of natyacharya Pandanallur Subbaraya Pillai, Meenakshi is a well-known Bharatanatyam artiste. She is the founder and director of Kaladiksha Bharathanatyam School in Chennai.

Dr. Sirkazhi Siva Chidambaram

Son of popular vocalist Sirkazhi Govindarajan, who was a well-known vocalist in Carnatic style as well as film music, Sivachidambaram is a physician cum musician. He learnt music from guru Sangeetha Vidwan B. Krishnamurthy. Siva Chidambaram is a popular performing artiste.


One response to “Padmashri Awards Announced

  1. Pingback: » Blog Archive » Padmashri Awards Announced·

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s